Icelandic Art Center
Icelandic Art Center
07. 11 2017
Fall Open Studios

Open Studios
November 10–November 11, 2017
Fall Open Studios

Opening Reception: Friday, November 10, 6–9pm
Open Hours: Saturday, November 11, 1–8pm

The International Studio & Curatorial Program (ISCP) Fall Open Studios is a two-day exhibition of international contemporary art presented by the 36 artists and curators from 22 countries currently in residence. Twice a year only, ISCP offers the public access to the inner sanctum of artists’ and curators’ studios to view artwork and share one-on-one conversations. In these current times, spaces for open discourse are more important than ever—we invite the public to engage in dialogue about contemporary art with arts professionals from across the globe. Concentrated in a three-story loft building on the edge of Bushwick, ISCP has supported the creative advancement of residents for over twenty years, with a robust program of private individual workspaces and professional benefits.

Concrete Truth: Art and the Documentary will also be on view during Open Studios. Concrete Truth considers vital questions around fact and image-making. The exhibition presents recent lens-based works positioned at the boundary of art and the documentary. It takes stock of documentary art work produced in the last few years, highlighting the various ways artists represent political and social realities in an age of global disinformation. Artists in the exhibition include Edgardo Aragón, Eric Baudelaire, Paolo Cirio, Maryam Jafri, belit sağ, and Krista Belle Stewart. The exhibition is curated by Kari Conte.

Artworks for the 2017 ISCP Benefit Auction will be available for viewing in the Project Space.  

Open Studios participating artists and curators: Knut Åsdam (Norway), Elaine Byrne (United States/Ireland), Naomi Campbell (United States/Japan), Paolo Cirio (United States/Italy), Lourdes Correa-Carlo (United States), Alexis Dahan (United States/France), Cem Dinlenmiş (Turkey), Constant Dullaart (The Netherlands), Deborah Edmeades (Canada), Christian Falsnaes (Denmark), Carolina Falkholt (Sweden), Søren Thilo Funder (Denmark), Doreen Garner (United States), Camilo Godoy (United States/Colombia), Jude Griebel (United States/Canada), André Hemer (New Zealand/Germany), Mark Hilton (United States), Jess Johnson (Australia/New Zealand), Marte Danielsen Jølbo (Norway), Eli Kerr (Canada), Maria Lalou (Greece/The Netherlands), Antonia Low (Germany/United Kingdom), Lucy McKenna (Ireland), Elisabeth Molin (Denmark), Anna Nykyri (Finland), Mathias Pöschl (Austria), Liutauras Psibilskis (United States), Pia Rönicke (Denmark), Katharina Schilling (Germany), Lisa Seebach (Germany), Fuyuka Shindo (Japan), Anne de Vries (The Netherlands), Anu Vahtra (Estonia), Raul Valverde (United States/Spain), Entang Wiharso (United States/Indonesia), and Shuhei Yamada (Japan).

Temporary tattoos designed by residents Cem Dinlenmiş and Jess Johnson will be provided free by Tattly, and a limited edition by Cary Leibowitz will be available for purchase.

ISCP thanks the following residency sponsors: ACC – Asian Cultural Council; Aisho Miura Arts; Alfred Kordelin Foundation; Amsterdams Fonds voor de Kunst; Australia Council for the Arts; The Beckett Foundation; BKA – Bundeskanzleramt Österreich Kunst und Kultur / Arts and Culture Division of the Federal Chancellery of Austria; Canada Council for the Arts; Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec; Creative New Zealand; Danish Arts Foundation; Den Hielmstierne-Rosencroneske Stiftelse; Estonian Contemporary Art Development Center; The Fulbright Foundation in Greece; Hasselblad Foundation; IASPIS – The Swedish Arts Grants Committee’s International Programme for Visual Artists; The Jacques and Natasha Gelman Foundation; James Wallace Arts Trust; The J.F. Costopoulos Foundation; KdFS Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen; Knud Højgaards Fond; Mondriaan Fonds; National Endowment for the Arts; The New York Community Trust’s Edward and Sally Van Lier Fund; New York City Council District 34; New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, in partnership with the City Council; Niedersächsisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur and Niedersächsische Sparkassenstiftung; OCA – Office for Contemporary Art Norway; Yoko Ono; The Pollock-Krasner Foundation, Inc.; Rubicon Gallery; Danna and Ed Ruscha; SAHA Association; Senate Department for Culture and Europe; Toby Devan Lewis Donor Advised Fund of the Jewish Federation of Cleveland; and Alice and Lawrence Weiner.

This program is supported, in part, by Arrogant Swine; Austrian Cultural Forum New York; Consulate General of Denmark in New York; Consulate General of Finland in New York; Consulate General of Sweden in New York; Google; Greenwich Collection, Ltd.; Lagunitas Brewing Company; Materials for the Arts; The Milton and Sally Avery Arts Foundation; National Endowment for the Arts; New York City Council District 34; New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, in partnership with the City Council; New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo and the New York State Legislature; Royal Norwegian Consulate General in New York; and Tattly.

ISCP thanks the members of the Director’s Circle for their generous support: Anne Altchek, Janet Brief Ezersky, Karyn Issa Greenwald Ginsberg, Ellen Rachlin, Lori Reinsberg, Tracey Riese, Laurie Sprayregen, and Teri Volpert.

Opening Reception: Nov 10, 2017, 6–9pm
Open Hours: 1–8pm
Click here for more information.